Congress leader Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu sworn in as the new Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh

Tags: State News

Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu sworn in as the new Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh

Former Congress state chief Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu was sworn in as the 17th Chief Minister of Himachal Pradesh on 11 December by Governor Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar in Shimla.

Important facts

  • Mukesh Agnihotri was sworn in as the Deputy Chief Minister. He is a resident of Nadaun in Hamirpur district of Himachal Pradesh.

  • Two days after the Congress wrested power from BJP winning 40 seats in the 68-member Assembly, the Congress leadership on 10 December named Sukhu as the next CM. 

  • Law graduate Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu, a four-time MLA from Nadaun constituency in Himachal Pradesh and head of the Congress's election committee in the state, began his career in student politics.

  • Another possible candidate for the post was state unit chief and wife of late party leader Virbhadra Singh, Pratibha Singh.

  • Sukhwinder Singh Sukhu was the general secretary of the Himachal Pradesh unit of the Congress-affiliated National Students' Union of India (NSUI). Later, he became the president of NSUI.

  • For the first time he won the assembly elections in 2003 from Nadaun in Hamirpur district. He then retained the seat in 2007 but lost it again in 2012 and won it again in 2017 and 2022.

About Himachal Pradesh 

  • It was made the eighteenth state of India on 25 January 1971 under the Himachal Pradesh State Act, 1971.

  • Himachal Pradesh is also called the Land of Gods.

  • Himachal Pradesh is part of the Shivalik range of the Himalaya Mountains.

  • Major rivers and dams- Sutlej (Bhakra Dam, Gobind Sagar Reservoir, Koldam Dam), Vyas (Pandoh Dam, Maharana Pratap Sagar Reservoir), Ravi (Chamera Dam), Parvati

  • Major Lakes- Renuka, Revalsar, Khajjiar, Dal, Beas Kund, Dasaur, Brighu, Parashar, Mani Mahesh, Chander Tal, Suraj Tal, Kareri, Sarolsar, Govind Sagar, Nako Lake

  • National Parks- Great Himalayan National Park, Pin Valley National Park, Khirganga, Inderkilla and Simbalbara National Parks

  • Capital- Shimla

  • Governor- Rajendra Vishwanath Arlekar

  • Ex-Chief Minister- Jai Ram Thakur

  • Legislative Assembly seats- 68

  • Rajya Sabha seats- 3

  • Lok Sabha seats - 4

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -