Bhupendra Patel sworn-in as Gujarat CM for 2nd consecutive term

Tags: Person in news State News

Bhupendra Patel sworn-in as Gujarat CM

BJP leader Bhupendra Patel took oath as the Chief Minister of Gujarat for a second straight term in Gandhinagar on 12 December in the presence of Prime Minister Narendra Modi and Union Home Minister Amit Shah. 

Important facts

  • Governor Acharya Devvrat administered the oath as the 18th Chief Minister of the state.

  • Patel was sworn in as the 17th Chief Minister of Gujarat on September 13, 2021.

  • The BJP created history in Gujarat with a landslide and 7th consecutive victory in the 2022 elections.

  • Breaking his own record, Patel won the 2022 election once again from Ghatlodia constituency with a huge margin of 1,91,000 votes.

  • The BJP won 156 seats in the 182-member assembly, its best ever performance in the state.

  • The opposition Congress could win only 17 seats while Arvind Kejriwal's Aam Aadmi Party had to be content with just 5 seats.

  • Three seats went to independent candidates, while the Samajwadi Party (SP) won one seat in the state.

  • In the last assembly elections in 2017, BJP won 99 seats, Congress won 77 seats and NCP, BTP and Independent candidates secured 1, 2 and 3 seats respectively.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -