Chandrayaan-3 Mission Team Wins 2024 John L "Jack" Swigert Jr. Award

Tags: Awards

The Chandrayaan-3 mission team of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) was awarded the 2024 John L "Jack" Swigert Jr. award for Space Exploration.

An Overview of the News

  • The award was received by i.DC Manjunath, Consul General of India (CGI) in Houston, United States of America (U.S.A.), on behalf of ISRO's Chandrayaan-3 team.

  • The award ceremony took place on 8th April, 2024, during the Opening Ceremony of the annual Space Symposium organized by Space Foundations in Colorado, U.S.A.

  • Chandrayaan-3 mission was announced as the recipient of the 2024 John L "Jack" Swigert Jr. award for space exploration by Space Foundation in January 2024.

Other Winners:

  • Included teams from NASA, such as OSIRIS-REx, Mars Ingenuity Helicopter, Insight-Mars Cube One, and Dawn and Cassini missions.

About Chandrayaan-3 Mission:

  • Launched on 14th July, 2023, from Satish Dhawan Space Centre in Sriharikota, Andhra Pradesh (A.P.).

  • The lander module successfully touched down on the moon on 23rd August, 2023.

  • Consists of a lunar lander named "Vikram" and a lunar rover named "Pragyan."

About John L "Jack" Swigert Jr. Award for Space Exploration:

  • Established in 2004 in honor of former NASA astronaut John L. "Jack" Swigert Jr. by Space Foundation.

  • Recognizes significant achievements in space exploration.

  • Presented annually at the Space Symposium by the Space Foundation, a non-profit organization founded in 1983.

About ISRO:

Established in 1969

President - Sridhar Panikkar Somnath

Headquarters - Bengaluru, Karnataka

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -