Manoj Panda Appointed as Full-Time Member of India's 16th Finance Commission

Tags: Person in news

Manoj Panda, former Director of the Institute of Economic Growth (IEG), appointed as a full-time member of the 16th Finance Commission (FC) by the Government of India (GoI).

An Overview of the News

  • His term begins from the date he assumes office until the submission of the Report or 31st October 2025.

  • Panda replaces Niranjan Rajadhyaksha, Executive Director at Artha Global, who was previously appointed as a full-time member of the 16th FC in January 2024.

Background of Manoj Panda:

  • Economist and Senior Economist at the National Council of Applied Economic Research (NCAER) from 1982 to 1992.

  • Professor and Associate Professor at the Indira Gandhi Institute of Development Research (IGIDR), Mumbai, Maharashtra from 1992 to 2008.

  • Served as the Director of Centre for Economic and Social Studies (CESS), Hyderabad, Telangana.

  • Director of the IEG, New Delhi, Delhi from 2012 to 2019.

Constitution of the 16th Finance Commission:

  • Constituted by the GoI in December 2023 with Arvind Panagariya, former Vice-Chairman of NITI Aayog, as its Chairman.

  • In January 2024, three full-time members and one part-time member were appointed.

Current Members of the 16th FC:

  • Full-time members:

    • Ajay Narayan Jha, former member of the 15th Finance Commission and former Secretary, Expenditure.

    • Annie George Mathew, former Special Secretary, Expenditure.

    • Manoj Panda, newly appointed full-time member.

  • Part-time member:

    • Dr. Soumya Kanti Ghosh, Group Chief Economic Advisor, State Bank of India.

Secretary of the 16th FC:

  • Ritvik Ranjanam Pandey, a 1998-batch IAS officer, holds the position of Secretary.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -