Ding Liren becomes China's first world chess champion

Tags: Sports Sports News

Ding Liren becomes China's first world chess champion

Ding Liren became China's first world chess champion after defeating Russia's Ian Nepomniachtchi in a tie-breaker.

An Overview of the News

  • Ding Liren has become the 17th World Chess Champion.

  • He took over from Magnus Carlsen of Norway as the winner of the World Chess Championship.

  • The first stage of the World Chess Championship in Astana, Kazakhstan ended with Ding Liren and Nepomniachtchi with seven points, with three wins and eight draws.

  • The match was held from 9 April to 30 April 2023, lasting a total of 21 days.

History of the World Chess Championship

  • The first recognized world championship match in chess was played in 1886 between Wilhelm Steinitz and Johannes Zukertort, with Steinitz emerging as the first world champion.

  • From 1886 to 1946, the world champion set the terms of the competition, requiring challengers to raise a significant stake and defeat the champion in a match to claim the title.

  • After the death of world champion Alexander Alekhine in 1946, the International Chess Federation (FIDE) took over the administration of the World Championship and held a series of tournaments every three years until 1993 to choose a new challenger.

  About Kazakhstan

  • It is a Central Asian country that was once a part of the Soviet Union. It became an independent nation in 1991 after the dissolution of the Soviet Union.

  • The country is the ninth largest country in the world by land area, stretching from the Caspian Sea in the west to the Altai Mountains in the east.

  • The capital of Kazakhstan is Nur-Sultan, which was renamed from Astana in 2019. Almaty is the largest city in Kazakhstan and it was the capital of Kazakhstan until 1997 when the government was moved to Astana.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -