First-ever Women's Premier League begin in Navi Mumbai

Tags: Sports Sports News

The Women's Premier League (WPL 2023) with five teams begins on 4 March 2023 in Navi Mumbai.

An overview of the news

  • After years of waiting and planning, the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI) has launched a T20 franchise-based cricket league for women on the lines of the popular Indian Premier League.

  • India skipper Harmanpreet Kaur has been named as the MI skipper while opener Smriti Mandhana will captain the RCB women's team.

  • Australia's successful skipper Meg Lanning will captain Delhi Capitals, while Beth Mooney has been named as the skipper of Gujarat Giants.

  • Australian wicket keeper and batsman Alyssa Healy is leading the UP Warriors in WPL 2023.

  • First match between Mumbai Indians and Gujarat Giants was played at DY Patil Stadium Navi Mumbai 4 March. 

  • The tournament final will be played at the Brabourne Stadium, Mumbai, on the 26 March. 

Five teams taking part in the inaugural edition of WPL

  • Mumbai Indians (MI), 

  • Royal Challengers Bangalore (RCB), 

  • Delhi Capitals (DC), 

  • UP Warriorz (UPW) 

  • Gujarat Giants (GG) 

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -