For the first time in India, the Rajasthan government introduced the Rajasthan Platform Based Gig Workers Bill, 2023

Tags: Government Schemes

Rajasthan-Platform-Based-Gig-Workers-Bill,-2023The Rajasthan government has introduced the Rajasthan Platform-Based Gig Workers Bill, 2023, making it the first state in India to ensure social security assurance for gig workers.

An Overview of the News 

  • As part of this initiative, Rajasthan platform based Gig Workers Welfare Board will be set up to support gig workers in the state.

  • The Welfare Board will enable gig workers to register with all state aggregators, thereby ensuring better access to opportunities and benefits.

  • An integrated fee deduction mechanism will be set up within aggregator apps, and non-compliance with the provisions of the Bill will attract a fine of ₹5 lakh for the first offence and ₹50 lakh for subsequent offences.

  • Gig workers will be empowered with a standardized unique ID applicable across all platforms, giving them access to various social security programs and allowing them to effectively raise grievances.

  • Gig workers will be represented on the board, giving them a say in decision-making processes related to their well-being.

  • India's gig workforce is expected to reach 23.5 million by 2030, and recognizing their importance, the Social Security Code (2020) has a dedicated section for gig workers, ensuring they receive social security benefits.

About Rajasthan

  • It is bordered by five other Indian states: Punjab to the north; Haryana and Uttar Pradesh in the northeast; Madhya Pradesh in the southeast; and Gujarat in the southwest.

  • Rajasthan is also home to three national tiger reserves, Ranthambore National Park in Sawai Madhopur, Sariska Tiger Reserve in Alwar and Mukundra Hills Tiger Reserve in Kota.

  • The state was formed on 30 March 1949 when Rajputana was merged with the Dominion of India.

Capital- Jaipur

District - 33 (7 Circle)

Governor - Kalraj Mishra

Chief Minister - Ashok Gehlot (INC)

Legislative Assembly - Rajasthan Legislative Assembly (200 seats)

Rajya Sabha - 10 seats

Lok Sabha - 25 seats

Chief Justice of Rajasthan High Court: Augustine George Masih.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -