Gandhi Vatika inaugurated: Tribute to the life and legacy of Mahatma Gandhi in Jaipur's Central Park

Tags: State News

On September 23, “Gandhi Vatika”, a museum dedicated to Mahatma Gandhi, was officially opened in Jaipur's Central Park.

An Overview of the News

  • Congress MP Rahul Gandhi, Congress President Mallikarjun Kharge and Rajasthan Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot attended the inauguration ceremony.

  • Jaipur Development Authority (JDA) invested Rs 87 crore in the construction of this museum.

Initiative and Guidance:

  • The Rajasthan government, under the leadership of Chief Minister Ashok Gehlot, played a key role in initiating and overseeing the construction of the innovative museum named Gandhi Vatika.

  • The construction of Gandhi Vatika was made possible with the funds allocated in the state government budget for the financial year 2021-22.

Museum Layout:

  • The museum is built over three floors and includes a basement, with each floor dedicated to highlighting different aspects of Mahatma Gandhi's life and teachings.

  • The basement section of the museum focuses on major historical events such as the colonial era, the early stages of the freedom struggle, the Rebellion of 1857 and Gandhi's experiences in South Africa.

  • The ground floor of the museum houses exhibitions related to Gandhi's return to India, his vision for the nation, the various movements he led and the events leading up to his last days.

  • The first floor of Gandhi Vatika is dedicated to showcasing Gandhi's visits to Rajasthan and his deep impact on the global stage.

About Rajasthan

  • It is bordered by five other Indian states: Punjab to the north; Haryana and Uttar Pradesh in the northeast; Madhya Pradesh in the southeast; and Gujarat in the southwest.

  • Rajasthan is also home to three national tiger reserves, Ranthambore National Park in Sawai Madhopur, Sariska Tiger Reserve in Alwar, and Mukundara Hills Tiger Reserve in Kota.

  • Formation - 30 March 1949

  • Capital - Jaipur

  • Districts - 33 (7 divisions)

  • Governor - Kalraj Mishra

  • Chief Minister - Ashok Gehlot (INC)

  • Assembly - Rajasthan Legislative Assembly (200 seats)

  • Rajya Sabha - 10 seats

  • Lok Sabha - 25 seats

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -