India abstains on UNSC resolution condemning Russia’s ‘referenda’ in Ukraine

Tags: International News

India abstained from voting on a draft resolution tabled by the US and Albania at the United Nations Security Council (UNSC) on September 30 that condemned Russia's illegal referendum and its occupation of Ukrainian territories.

Important facts

  • The resolution demanded that Russia immediately withdraw its forces from Ukraine.

  • 15 Security Council countries were supposed to vote on this resolution, but Russia used a veto against it, due to which the resolution could not be passed.

  • 10 of the 15 Security Council countries voted in favor of the resolution, while China, Gabon, India and Brazil did not participate.

  • UN Secretary-General Antonio Guterres said that the occupation of another country's territory by threat or use of force is a violation of the United Nations Charter and the principles of international law.

  • India's position has been clear and consistent from the very beginning of this conflict.

  • She said that the global order is based on the principles of the United Nations Charter, international law and respect for sovereignty and the territorial integrity of all states. Rhetoric or escalation of tension is not in anyone's interest.

  • On 30 September, Russian President Putin submitted his claim to the Ukrainian territories of Donetsk, Luhansk, Kherson and Zaporizhzhya.

  • It was also decided by the Security Council that Russia "immediately, completely and unconditionally" withdraw all its military forces from the territory of Ukraine.

About UNSC :

  • It was established in 1945 by the United Nations Charter.

  • It is one of the six major organs of the United Nations.

  • The other 5 organs of the United Nations are - the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA), the Trusteeship Council, the Economic and Social Council, the International Court of Justice and the Secretariat.

  • It has five permanent members - China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States, collectively known as the P5. 

  • India is currently a non-permanent member of the UNSC for a two-year term, which expires in December.

  • Any one of them can veto a resolution.

  • Headquarters - New York

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -

Date Wise Search

Test Your Learning


Go To Quiz