India wins Sultan of Johor Cup for the third time beating Australia in a penalty shoot out

Tags: place in news Sports

3rd Sultan of Johor Hockey cup

The Indian junior men’s hockey team held their nerves to win the penalty shootout against the Australian team to win its 3rd Sultan of Johor Hockey cup title, at the final match played at the Taman Daya Hockey Stadium in Johor Bahru, Malaysia, on 29 October 2022. The 10th edition of the Sultan of Johar cup was held from 22-29 October 2022 in Johor Bahru, Malaysia.

In the final match India and Australia were tied 1-1 after regulation time. In the penalty shootout India won by 5-4 goals.  Sudeep Chirmako (14’) scored the goal for India in regulation time. 

India has now equalled the record of Great Britain having won it three times. India has won the titles in  2013 and 2014. The Indian hockey team reached the final of the last edition in 2019 as well but lost 2-1 to Great Britain.

Indian player Sharda Nand Tiwari was the top goal scorer of the tournament with 7 goals and the player of the final was Sudeep Chirmako.

India, Australia, Great Britain, Japan, Malaysia and South African team participated in the 10th Sultan of Johar cup 

Sultan of Johar Cup 

The Sultan of Johar cup is a u-21 men’s International Hockey championship held annually in Johor Bahru, Malaysia.

The cup was started in 2011 and the 2022 edition was the 10th edition of the tournament.

It was not held in 2020 and 2021 due to covid.

India and Great Britain have won it 3 times each.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -