Indian Army approves five Make-II projects to promote 'self-reliance'

Tags: National Defence National News

 five Make-II projects to promote 'self-reliance'

The Indian Army on November 4 has given approval for development of  five Make-II Projects niche technology by Indian industry under the Make-II route of defence procurement.

What are Make-Category Projects?

  • The provision of 'Make' category of capital acquisition in the Defense Procurement Procedure (DPP) is an important pillar for realising the vision of 'Make in India' initiative.

  • It aims to promote indigenous capabilities through design and development of defence equipment/products/systems/sub-systems/components/parts required by both public and private sectors within a fast time frame.

Sub-categories of ‘Make’ Project

  1. Make-I (Government Funded)

  • Make-I refers to the projects funded by the government.

  • This includes the development of big-ticket platforms such as light tanks and communication equipment with Indian security protocols.

  1. Make-II (Industry Funded)

  • Industry-funded programs are covered under 'Make-II'.

  • The Make-II category includes the development of prototypes of military hardware or its up-gradation for import substitution, for which no government funding is provided.

  • The Army is already working on 43 projects under the Make II process of capital acquisition.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -