Kotian, Sarfaraz stars in the Mumbai first Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

Tags: place in news Sports

 Mumbai first Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy

A power packed performance from Sarfraz Khan and Tanush Kotian propelled Mumbai cricket team to its maiden Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy.  The Mumbai team beat Himachal Pradesh by 3 wickets in the final played at the Eden Garden Stadium, Kolkata on 5 November 2022. Sarfaraz scored an unbeaten 36 off 31 balls, while Kotian claimed three wickets as Mumbai lifted the trophy at the Eden Gardens.

The Mumbai team led by Ajinkaya Rahane won the toss and invited Himachal to bat first. The Himachal team made 143 for the loss of 8 wickets in the allotted 20 overs.

The Mumbai team achieved the target with a score of 146 for the loss of 7 wickets and won the match by 3 wickets.

Tanush Kotia was declared as the player of the match.

Syed Mushtaq Ali Trophy 

The Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy is organized by the  BCCI (Board for Control of Cricket in India). It is a premier domestic T20 cricket tournament which was launched in 2006-07 season.

Initially it was named as T20 Inter- State Championship but it was renamed later as Syed Mushtaq Ali trophy.

Tamil Nadu has won it maximum 3 times.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -