Luis A. Caffarelli awarded the 2023 Abel Prize

Tags: Awards

Luis A. Caffarelli awarded the 2023 Abel Prize

Luis Caffarelli of Argentina has been awarded the 2023 Abel Prize.

An overview of the news

  • The 74-year-old Caffarelli has been awarded the prize for his contributions to the field of nonlinear partial equations and free-boundary problems in mathematics.

  • Caffarelli was born and raised in Buenos Aires, Argentina, making him the first Abel Prize laureate from South America.

  • Currently, he is a professor at the University of Texas, Austin.

About Abel Prize

  • First awarded in 2003, the Abel prizerecognises pioneering scientific achievements in mathematics”

  • It is named after Norwegian mathematician Niels Henrik Abel (1802-29), who in his short life made pioneering contributions in a multitude of fields. 

  • It is often considered to be an equivalent of the Nobel prize.

  • The award carries a monetary prize of 7.5 million kronor (about $720,000) and a glass plaque designed by Norwegian artist Henrik Haugen.

  • The prize is awarded by the Norwegian Academy of Science and Letters on behalf of the Ministry of Education.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -