Manik Saha takes oath as 11th chief minister of Tripura

Tags: Person in news State News

Tripura BJP chief and Rajya Sabha MP Manik Saha took oath as the 11th Chief Minister of the state at the Raj Bhavan in Agartala on May 15, a day after Biplab Kumar Deb resigned from the post.

  • The 69-year-old Saha (A professor of dental surgery) was named as the leader of the BJP legislature party hours after the resignation of Deb. 

  • Saha left the Congress and joined the BJP in 2016.

  • During his early days in the party, he was in charge of urban areas in the Booth Management Committee in the 2018 assembly elections.

  • After BJP's thumping victory in the assembly elections, he was given the responsibility of in-charge of the booth management committee for the 2019 parliamentary elections.

  • Deb was sworn in as the first CM of Tripura in 2018, ending the 25-year rule of the Communist Party of India in the state.

  • About Tripura

  • Capital   -   Agartala

  • Governor   -   Satyadeo Narain Arya

  • State Bird  -  Green Imperial Pigeon (Ducula aenea)

  • State Tree    Agar (Aquilaria malaccensis)

  • State Flower      -   Nageswar (Mesua Ferrea)

  • State Flower      -   Nageswar (Mesua Ferrea)

  • Borders    -    Bangladesh, Mizoram and Assam.

  • connected with the rest of India -  by NH-44 that runs through Assam, Meghalaya, North Bengal, Kolkata and other parts of India.

  • No. of Districts      -   08

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -