Sheikh Mohammed named UAE President

Tags: Person in news International News

On May 14, the rulers of the United Arab Emirates unanimously appointed Sheikh Mohamed bin Zayed Al Nahyan as the nation's president.

  • The country's seven sheikhs, who are the rulers of the UAE, took the decision at a meeting held at the Al Mushrif Palace in Abu Dhabi.

  • The post fell vacant after the country's president and ruler of Abu Dhabi, Sheikh Khalifa bin Zayed Al Nahyan, 73, died on 13 May.

  • The transition of power marks only the third time this U.S.-allied nation of seven sheikhdoms has selected a President since becoming an independent nation in 1971.

  • The UAE has had a presidential system since it emerged as an independent nation in 1971.

  • Important facts about UAE

  • There are no rivers in the UAE

  • The UAE was the first country in the world to appoint a minister for artificial intelligence

  • The Arabian Oryx is the national animal of the UAE

  • Six of the world’s tallest hotels are in the UAE

  • It is located on the southeast end of the Arabian Peninsula. 

  • The country's form of government is an absolute monarchy.

  • Each emirate of the UAE is ruled by a separate royal family.

  • The falcon is the UAE's national symbol 

  • Capital city   -   Abu Dhabi

  • 7 Emirates of the UAE  -  Abu Dhabi, Dubai, Sharjah, Fujairah, Ajman, Ras Al Khaimah, Umm Al Quwain.

  • Religion  - Muslims 76%, Christians 19%

  • Language  -  Arabic

  • Currency   -   Dirhams

  • National Day   -  2 December

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -