Mary Kom, PV Sindhu, Mirabai Chanu and Gagan Narang elected in IOA Athletes Commission

Tags: Sports Sports News

Mary Kom, PV Sindhu, Mirabai Chanu and Gagan Narang

Olympic medalists MC Mary Kom, PV Sindhu, Mirabai Chanu and Gagan Narang are among 10 eminent sports persons selected as members of the Indian Olympic Association's (IOA) Athletes Commission on November 14, 2022.

Important facts

  • The other seven members of the apex body are - Tokyo Olympics silver medallist weightlifter Mirabai Chanu, 2012 Olympics bronze winner shooter Gagan Narang, veteran table tennis player Achanta Sharath Kamal, hockey player Rani Rampal, cyclist Bhavani Devi, rower Bajrang Lal and former shot putter OP Karhana.

  • All the 10 elected members of the apex body, five men and five women, were elected unopposed in the election.

  • India's first Olympic individual gold medalist shooter Abhinav Bindra and former hockey captain Sardar Singh will join the commission as members of the International Olympic Committee (IOC) and the Asian Olympic Council (OCA), both with voting rights.

  • Bindra was elected a member of the IOC Athletes Commission for eight years in 2018 while Sardar Singh became a member of the OCA Athletes Commission for four years in 2019.

  • Under the new constitution of the Indian Olympic Association, the commission should have an equal number of female and male representatives.

  • Two members of the commission will be in the IOA Executive Council whose election is to be held on December 10.

President of the Indian Olympic Association  - Adil Sumariwala  

President of the International Olympic Committee - Thomas Bach 

Headquarters of IOC - Lussanne , Switzerland

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -

Date Wise Search