Phangnon Konyak became the first woman to chair the Rajya Sabha from Nagaland

Tags: Person in news

Phangnon-Konyak-became-the-first-woman-to-chair-the-Rajya-Sabha-from-NagalandPhangnon Konyak, the first woman member from Nagaland in the Rajya Sabha, presided over the House.

An Overview of the News

  • On 17 July 2023, Phangnon Konyak became the first woman member to be appointed to the panel of Vice-Chairpersons.

  • Rajya Sabha Chairman Jagdeep Dhankhar nominated four women members (50% of the total) to the panel of Vice-Chairpersons to promote gender equality.

  • All the nominated women members are first time MPs.

  • The reconstituted panel now comprises a total of eight members, half of whom are women, a first in the history of the Upper House.

The nominated women members are as follows:

  • PT Usha: Renowned athlete and Padma Shri awardee, nominated to Rajya Sabha in July 2022.

  • S. Phangnon Konyak: First woman elected as Rajya Sabha member from Nagaland (April 2022) and serves on various committees.

  • Dr. Fauzia Khan: Nominated to Rajya Sabha in April 2020, Member of various committees.

  • Sulta Dev: Elected to Rajya Sabha in July 2022, served on various committees.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -