Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (Gramin)

Tags: National National News

The Union Ministry of Rural Development has decided to impose a penalty on the State Governments for delay in completion of Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (Gramin) on 15th September.


  • As per a recent report, West Bengal, Chhattisgarh, Odisha, and Assam, are the leading four States who are far behind their targets.
  • The initial deadline for the scheme was March 2022, which was extended by two years to March 2024 due to the coronavirus pandemic.

What will be penalties ? 

  • The ministry has sent a circular listing all the states.

  • It said that if the construction of a house is delayed for more than a month from the stipulated date, the state government will be fined Rs 10 per house for the delay in the first month and Rs 20 per house for the month thereafter.

About Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana :

  • The Ministry of Housing and Urban Poverty Alleviation launched the Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana rural in 2016.

  • The scheme was initiated with the objective of ‘Housing for All by 2022’.

  • The scheme has 2 Components - Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (Urban) and Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana (Rural).

  • Pradhan Mantri Awas Yojana Gramin was earlier called Indira Awas Yojana which was renamed in March 2016.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -

Date Wise Search

Test Your Learning


Go To Quiz