Pramod Sawant Sworn in as Goa Chief Minister for the second time

Tags: Popular State News

Bharatiya Janata Party(BJP) leader Pramod Sawant was sworn in for the second time as the Chief Minister of Goa on 28 March 2022.

He and 8 other ministers were  administered the oath of office and secrecy by the Goa Governor Mr.  PS Sreedharan Pillai  at the Dr Syama Prasad Mookerjee Stadium, Panaji.

The event was attended by Prime Minister Modi  and other top BJP leaders and Ministers.


  • Pramod Swant became the chief Minister of Goa in 2019 after the death of the incumbent Chief Minister Manhoar Parrikar.

  • He  won his  Sanquelim Assembly seat by defeating Dharmesh Saglani of the Congress party in the recently held Goa Legislative Assembly election in 2022. 

  • The election to constitute the 8th Goa Legislative Assembly was held on 14 February 2022.

  • BJP won 20 seats in the  40 member Goa Assembly . 

  • The party enjoys the support of three Independents and two Maharashtrawadi Gomantak Party (MGP) legislators. This is the third consecutive government of the BJP in the coastal state.  

  • Pramod Sawant is the 13 Person to become the Chief Minister of Goa.

  • He is an Ayurvedic medical practitioner by profession.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -