President of India awarded RPF/RPSF personnel with Jeevan Raksha Padak awards

Tags: Awards

Hon'ble President of India Draupadi Murmu conferred Jeevan Raksha Padak Awards to RPF/RPSF personnel in New Delhi.

Awardees of Jeevan Raksha Padak awards

  1. Jaipal Singh, Head Constable/ Northern Railway

  2. Surendra Kumar, Constable/Northern Railway

  3. Bhuda Ram Saini, Constable/7th BN/RPSF

Why were the Jeevan Raksha Padak awards given?

  • On 12 May 2022, in the jurisdiction of Nizamuddin Railway Station BTPN wagon caught fire due to technical reasons.  

  • At that time about 1000 persons were working at the site.  

  • An atmosphere of fear was created after seeing the fire taking a dreadful form.  

  • To save their lives, the workers started running here and there in a fit of desperation.

  • Head Constable Jaipal Singh, Constable Surendra Kumar and Constable Budha Saini were on duty.

  • Showing great courage, they took the help of a fire extinguisher and extinguished the fire in a BTPN wagon full of highly inflammable material (Naphtha) with utmost care, without caring for his own life.

  • Had the fire not been doused immediately, it would have spread to a total of 18 BTPN wagons carrying highly inflammable material (Naphtha), causing a major accident, threatening thousands of lives and causing damage to railway property worth billions of rupees.

  • Jaipal Singh, Surendra Kumar and Budhram Saini risked their lives to save nearly 1000 lives and railway property worth billions.

Jeevan Raksha Padak awards

  • Jeevan Raksha Padak series of awards are given to an individual for a meritorious act in saving the life of a person.

  • The award is given in three categories namely Sarvottam Jeevan Raksha Padak, Uttam Jeevan Raksha Padak and Jeevan Raksha Padak.

  • Anyone is eligible for these awards. This award can also be given posthumously.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -