Ranji Trophy 2021-22: Madhya Pradesh became champion after defeating Mumbai in the final

Tags: Sports

Madhya Pradesh team won the Ranji Trophy 2021-22 title by defeating Mumbai in the final match.

  • Madhya Pradesh won the tournament for the first time by defeating Mumbai by six wickets in the final match played at M Chinnaswamy, Bengaluru.

  • Madhya Pradesh has become the 20th team to win the Ranji Trophy.

  • Player of the match in the final - Shubham Sharma (Madhya Pradesh)

  • Most runs in the tournament - Sarfaraz Khan (982) (Mumbai)

  • Most wickets in the tournament - Shams Mulani (45) (Mumbai)

  • Karnataka in 2014-15, Mumbai in 2015-16, Gujarat in 2016-17, Vidarbha in 2017-18 and 2018-19, Saurashtra in 2019-20 and Madhya Pradesh in 2021-22 have become champions.

  • Ranji Trophy Tournament

  • The Ranji Trophy tournament has been played since 1934.

  • The first match was played between Madras and Mysore at the Chepauk Ground from 4 November 1934.

  • Mumbai has won this tournament the most 41 times.

  • For the first time in 86 years, last year (2020/21 season) Ranji Trophy had to be cancelled due to Corona.

  • Ranji Trophy is named after Maharaja Ranjit Singh.

  • Number of teams- 37

  • Most runs - Wasim Jaffer (10665), 1996–present

  • Most wickets - Rajinder Goyal (640), 1958–1985

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -