S. Somanath is the new Chairman of ISRO

Tags: Person in news

Senior rocket scientist S Somanath has been appointed as the tenth chairman of the Indian Space Research Organisation (ISRO) and secretary, department of space (DoS).

  • He will replace K Sivan, who will complete his term on 14th January 2022.
  • Since January 2018, Somanthan has been the Director of Vikram Sarabhai Space Centre (VSSC).
  • For the next three years he will serve as Secretary of the Department of Space and the Chairman of ISRO.

About S. Somanath

S. Somanath is an expert in a host of disciplines including launch vehicle design and has specialised in launch vehicle systems engineering, structural design, structural dynamics, integration designs and procedures, mechanism designs and pyrotechnics.

  • He led the LVM3-X/CARE mission which was the first successful experimental suborbital test flight of LVM3 on December 18, 2014.
  • He also was the Director of Liquid Propulsion Systems Centre (LPSC) and was responsible for the system integration design, development and testing of the stages of PSLV during its development.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -