SC Collegium recommends transfer of six HC judges

Tags: National

The Supreme Court Collegium, headed by Chief Justice of India NV Ramana, has recommended to the government the transfer or repatriation of judges in six different high courts.

  • Justice Ahsanuddin Amanullah has been recommended to be transferred from the Andhra Pradesh High Court to the Patna High Court.

  • Justice Chitta Ranjan Dash from Orissa to Calcutta High Court.

  • Justice Subhasis Talapatra from Tripura to Orissa High Court.

  • Justice Lanusungkum Jamir from Manipur to Gauhati High Court.

  • Justice Dhiraj Singh Thakur from Jammu and Kashmir and Ladakh High Court to Bombay High Court.

  • Justice Purushendra Kumar Kaurav to Delhi High Court from Madhya Pradesh.

  • About Collegium System

  • It is the system of appointment and transfer of judges.

  • It has evolved through judgments of the Supreme Court. 

  • The Supreme Court collegium is headed by the CJI and comprises four other senior most judges of the court.

  • The High Court Collegium is headed by its Chief Justice and the four other senior-most judges of that court.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -