Senior Congress leader Sonia Gandhi took Oath as Rajya Sabha MP

Tags: National News

Prominent Congress leader Sonia Gandhi took oath as Rajya Sabha member on April 4, 2024.

An Overview of the News

  • After the completion of the tenure of former Prime Minister Manmohan Singh on April 3, Sonia Gandhi secured her seat from Rajasthan.

  • This is Sonia Gandhi's first term in the upper house of Parliament.

  • Along with Sonia Gandhi, 13 other members took oath as ministers.

  • Notable individuals who took the oath included former Congress and current BJP member RPN Singh, Railway Minister Ashwini Vaishnav, Congress leaders Ajay Maken and Syed Nasir Hussain from Karnataka and BJP member Samik Bhattacharya from West Bengal.

  • Besides, YSRCP representatives Gola Babu Rao, Medha Raghunath Reddy and Yerum Venkata Subba Reddy also took oath.

  • The oath ceremony was presided over by Rajya Sabha Chairman Jagdeep Dhankhar and was held at the new Parliament House.

About Sonia Gandhi

  • Background:

    • Sonia Gandhi, born on 9 December 1946, is an Indian politician and the longest-serving president of the Indian National Congress.

    • He is from a small village near Vicenza, Italy and was raised in a Roman Catholic family.

  • Political Career:

    • Gandhi assumed the leadership of the Indian National Congress in 1998 after the assassination of her husband Rajiv Gandhi, the former Prime Minister of India.

    • He held the position of party leader for 22 years until 2017, overseeing the Congress during a crucial period in Indian politics.

    • After a short hiatus, Gandhi returned to the post of Congress president in 2019 and remained in the position for an additional three years.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -