Harmanpreet Kaur and Suryakumar Yadav included in Wisden Cricketers 2022 list

Tags: Sports Sports News

Wisden Cricketers Almanack has released the list of top-5 cricketers of the year 2022. It also includes India's women's team captain Harmanpreet Kaur and Suryakumar Yadav of the men's team.

An overview of the news

  • Apart from Kaur, the list also includes the names of Tom Blundell (New Zealand), Ben Foakes (England), Daryl Mitchell (New Zealand) and Matthew Potts (England).

  • Suryakumar Yadav has been selected as the T20 Cricketer of the Year.

  • Harmanpreet Kaur created history by becoming the first Indian woman to be named in Wisden Cricketers of the Year.

  • Apart from this, Ben Stokes of England has been selected as the best cricketer in the world for the year 2022-23 among male players.

  • At the same time, Beth Mooney (Australia) has received this award among women cricketers. Suryakumar Yadav has been selected as the T20 Cricketer of the Year.

Harmanpreet Kaur's performance

  • Harmanpreet has received this honor for her excellent performance last year.

  • Harmanpreet scored an unbeaten 143 off 111 balls in the ODI against England in the year 2022.

  • With this, Team India won an ODI series in England for the first time since 1999.

  • Under the captaincy of Harmanpreet, the team also won the silver medal in the Commonwealth Games. At the same time, the team also became the winner of the Asia Cup.

  • In the year 2022, Harmanpreet played 17 ODIs and managed to score 754 runs at an average of 58.00. His best score was 142 not out.

Suryakumar Yadav's performance in 2022

  • Suryakumar Yadav is currently the world's number-1 batsman in T20 cricket.

  • He played 31 matches in the year 2022 and scored 1,164 runs at an impressive strike rate of 187.43. Which is the second most runs ever in a calendar year. During this, he had scored 2 centuries and 9 half-centuries.

  • Suryakumar is doing better in the year 2023 as well. He has played 6 matches this year and scored 267 runs at an average of 66.75.

  • So far in 2023, he has scored 1 century and 1 half-century.

Wisden Cricketers' Almanack

  • It is known as the Bible of Cricket. 

  • Wisden was founded in 1864 by the English cricketer John Wisden. 

  • It is a cricket reference book published annually in the United Kingdom. 

  • The description "bible of cricket" was first used in the 1930s by Alec Waugh in a review for the London Mercury.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -