West Zone defeats South Zone in final to win the Cricket’s 2022 Duleep trophy

Tags: Sports

West Zone won the cricket’s Duleep Trophy title (2021-22 season) after defeating South Zone by 294 runs on the fifth and final day in Coimbatore, Tamilnadu on 25 September 2022.

Set a target of 529 runs for an outright win, South Zone were bowled out for 234 in 71.2 overs.

This is the 20th time the West Zone has won the Duleep Trophy. In addition it has also won the trophy 3 times as joint winner. West Zone has won it maximum times .

This year West Zone, South Zone, East Zone, North Zone, Central Zone and north East Zone teams participated in the Duleep Trophy.

Brief Score:

West Zone: 270 & 585/4d

South Zone: 327 & 234

Yashasvi Jaiswal of West Zone was declared as the Player of the final and Jaydev Unadkant of West Zone was declared as the Player of the Series. 

Duleep Trophy 

It is an annual first-class cricket competition organized by the Board of Control for Cricket in India (BCCI). 

It was named after Kumar Shri Duleepsinhji of Nawanagar (also known as 'Duleep'), and was started by the BCCI in the 1961-62 season.

The whole country is divided into different zones. However from the 2016-17 to 2019-20 seasons, the Duleep Trophy was contested by 3 teams - India Red, India Blue and India Green.

 West Zone won the inaugural Duleep Trophy in 1962.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -