Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) President Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh constituted a seven-member committee to probe the allegations of sexual harassment

Tags: committee National News

A seven-member committee has been constituted by the Indian Olympic Association (IOA) to probe allegations of sexual harassment leveled by prominent wrestlers against Wrestling Federation of India (WFI) President Brij Bhushan Sharan Singh.

An overview of the news

  • The Indian Olympic Association took the decision at its executive council meeting, which was attended by IOA president PT Usha and joint secretary Kalyan Choubey, besides sportspersons like Abhinav Bindra and Yogeshwar.

  • The seven-member committee constituted by the IOA includes veteran women boxer MC Mary Kom, wrestler Yogeshwar Dutt, archer Dola Banerjee and Indian Weightlifting Federation president Sahdev Yadav, besides two lawyers Talish Ray and Shlok Chandra and former shuttler Alaknanda Ashok.

What is the matter ?

  • 30 wrestlers of India along with Bajrang Punia, Vinesh Phogat and Sakshi Malik made many serious allegations against the President of the Wrestling Association, Brij Bhushan Singh.

  • Wrestlers have made many serious allegations against Brijbhushan like running the wrestling association in an arbitrary manner and not sending coaches with wrestlers in many competitions and threatening to protest.

  • Vinesh Phogat has accused Brij Bhushan of exploiting girls.

  • Wrestlers staged a sit-in at Delhi's Jantar Mantar for several days demanding formation of a committee to investigate the WFI president.

Wrestlers demand

  • Urges IOA to immediately set up a committee to look into complaints of sexual harassment

  • Demand to dissolve WFI.

  • Wrestlers demand sacking of WFI president

  • A new committee should be constituted in consultation with the wrestlers to look after the functioning of WFI.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -