Agra, Ghaziabad and Prayagraj get first Police Commissioners

Tags: State News

Agra, Ghaziabad and Prayagraj get first Police Commissioners

The Uttar Pradesh government issued an order on November 29, 2022, appointing the first police commissioners in three districts of Uttar Pradesh, Agra, Ghaziabad and Prayagraj.

Important facts

  • The Uttar Pradesh government on 25 November decided to introduce the police commissionerate system in Agra, Ghaziabad and Prayagraj after it was implemented in Noida, Varanasi, Lucknow and Kanpur.

  • The cabinet declared these three districts as metropolitan cities as per the rules of the Code of Criminal Procedure (CrPC) before the commissionerate system was introduced.

  • Agra has been included in the list considering its growing population, its significance in terms of national and international tourism. 

  • Ghaziabad has been included keeping in view its growing population, it being a busy district of the National Capital Region and its new industrial scenario.

  • Prayagraj has been included because of its population and religious and cultural significance.

What is a Commissionerate System?

  • Various committees to suggest police reforms have recommended the introduction of a police commissionerate system in cities that have witnessed rapid urbanisation and have a population of more than one million.

  • Under the Commissionerate system the Commissioner of Police exercises the powers and duties of a District Magistrate.

  • These powers are also available to any officer under the commissioner who is not below the rank of an Assistant Commissioner of Police.

  • This means that such police officers now have the powers of preventive arrest by invoking section 144 of the CrPC Act.

  • According to the commissionerate system the commissioner of Police will directly report to the government, in place of District Magistrate.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -

Date Wise Search