Bhagwant Mann sworn as the 18th Chief Minister of Punjab

Tags: Popular State News

Aam Aadmi Party (AAP) leader Bhagwant Mann was sworn in as the 18th Chief Minister of Punjab on 16 March 2022. The Governor of Punjba shri Banwari lal Purohit administers the oath of office to Bhagwant Mann at Khatkar Kalan, the native village of freedom fighter Bhagat Singh.

  • Bhagwant Mann was elected from Dhuri Assembly constituency with 58206 votes.

  • The Aam Aadmi party won 92 seats in the 117 Punjab Legislative Assembly. 

  • The election to constitute the 16th  Legislative Assembly of Punjab was held on 20 February 2022.

  • Charanjit Singh Channi  of Congress party who was the 17th Chief Minister of Punjab lost the election.

Important   for Exam 

  • Article 164 of the constitution provides that the Chief Minister of a state is appointed by the Governor of the state and the other ministers are appointed on the advice of the chief Minister.

  • The oath which the Chief Minister and the Minister takes are mentioned in the Third Schedule of the Constitution.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -