Government restores E-Visa to 156 countries

Tags: National

The Union Home Ministry has restored the electronic tourist visa (e-visa ) for 156 countries. This comes after the government of India decided to resume international flights from India from 27 March 2022. 

  • The normal international flights were suspended  on 23 March 2020 from India following the covid outbreak in the country .

  • The Home Ministry order has restored the  valid five years e-visa to 156 eligible countries and they are also now eligible for new  e-visa.

  • The order has also restored the  valid regular (paper) tourist visa with validity of five years, issued to foreign nationals of all countries..

  • However all land and riverine borders, including the Attari-Wagah post along Pakistan, will continue to remain shut, except for those with special permission.

  • This order of the home ministry is not applicable to the Afghan nationals. 

  • The Government of India has started a “new category of electronic visa called e-Emergency X-Misc Visa”.


It is an official document issued by a government to a foreigner to  enter,  leave or stay in  the country  for a specified time period.

In India Visa is issued by the Union Ministry  of Home Affairs 

Union Minister  of Home Affairs :  Amit Shah 

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -