Cabinet approves ratification of HQA between India and CDRI

Tags: National News

Cabinet-approves-ratification-of-HQA-between-India-and-CDRICabinet approves ratification of the Headquarters Agreement (HQA) between India and the Coalition for Disaster Resilient Infrastructure (CDRI)

An Overview of the News

  • The Union Cabinet chaired by the Prime Minister Shri Narendra Modi approved the ratification of the Headquarters Agreement (HQA) between the Government of India (GoI) and the Coalition for Disaster Resilient Infrastructure (CDRI) signed on August 22, 2022.

  • Headquarters grants exemptions, immunities and privileges to CDRI.

  • This gives CDRI an independent and international legal personality.

Launch and Objectives of CDRI

  • The CDRI was launched by the Prime Minister of India during the United Nations Climate Action Summit on September 23, 2019.

  • CDRI is a major global initiative aimed at climate change and disaster resilience.

CDRI setup and support

  • The cabinet approved the setting up of CDRI on August 28, 2019.

  • The Subsidiary Secretariat of CDRI is located in New Delhi.

  • Government of India provides financial assistance of Rs 480 crore to CDRI over a period of 5 years (2019-20 to 2023-24).

Recognition of CDRI as an International Organization

  • On June 29, 2022, the cabinet approved the recognition of CDRI as an international organization.

  • The Headquarters Agreement (HQA) facilitates these benefits under the United Nations (P&I) Act, 1947.

CDRI's Global Partnership and Objectives

  • CDRI is a global partnership that includes national governments, United Nations agencies, multilateral development banks, private sector organizations, academic institutions, and knowledge centers.

  • CDRI aims to promote the resilience of infrastructure systems to climate and disaster risks.

  • Its objective is to ensure sustainable development.

Membership and expansion of CDRI

  • CDRI has attracted 31 countries, 6 international organizations and 2 private sector organizations as members.

  • Membership includes economically advanced countries, developing countries and countries vulnerable to climate change and disasters.

  • CDRI is continuously expanding its membership to include various countries.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -