Centre designates 10 members of Hizb- Ul- Mujahideen, LeT outfits as terrorists under UAPA

Tags: National National News

The Union Home Ministry on October 5 designated a total of 10 members of Hizbul Mujahideen (HM), Lashkar-e-Taiba (LeT) and other banned organizations as terrorists under the Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act (UAPA).

Important facts

  • Five of these terrorists are associated with Hizb-ul-Mujahideen, two from Tehreek-ul-Mujahideen and one each from Lashkar-e-Taiba, Jammu and Kashmir Islamic Front and Harkat-ul-Jihad-e-Islami.

  • The names of the five declared terrorists of Pakistan are Shaukat Ahmed Sheikh, who is currently a resident of Pakistan and serving as the Chief Launching Commander of Hizb-ul-l Mujahideen. Apart from this, the names of Habibullah Malik alias Sajid Jatt, Basit Ahmed Reshi and Imtiaz Ahmed Kandu alias Sajjad are included.

  • The Home Ministry has claimed that Malik has created a network of hardline terrorists and is the mastermind of several terrorist attacks in the Valley.

Unlawful Activities (Prevention) Act (UAPA)

  • This Act was passed in 1967.

  • The Act provides for special procedures for dealing with terrorist activities.

  • Illegal activities are those actions which promote activities by any individual/organization which violates the territorial integrity and sovereignty of the country.

  • This Act imposes reasonable restrictions on the freedom of speech and expression, the right to assemble without arms and to form associations provided by Article 19 of the Constitution.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -