Former German Chancellor Angela Merkel wins UN refugee award

Tags: Awards Person in news International News

The United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees (UNHCR) on 4 October honoured former German Chancellor Angela Merkel with the UNHCR 'Nansen' Refugee Award for the year 2022 for her 'moral and political courage' during the refugee crisis in Syria.

Important facts

  • The award selection committee said she was chosen for her leadership, courage and compassion, which helped ensure the protection of millions of desperate asylum seekers.

  • Merkel will be honoured with the award on October 10 in Geneva.

Merkel's efforts for refugee protection

  • Under the leadership of former German Chancellor Angela Merkel, Germany gave asylum to more than 1.2 million refugees and asylum seekers in 2015 and 2016.

  • These refugees had reached Germany to save lives from violent conflict in Syria and other places.

  • UN Refugee Agency High Commissioner Filippo Grandi praised the former chancellor's resolve to stand up for the protection of refugees, human rights and international law.

About UNHCR Nansen Refugee Award

  • This award was established in 1954.

  • This award is given every year in memory of Fridjof Nansen, devoted to Norway's scientific, diplomatic and human welfare work.

  • This award is awarded to an individual, group or organisation that has made efforts to protect refugees, displaced and homeless people.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -