Dinesh Gunawardena sworn in as 15th Prime Minister of Sri Lanka

Tags: Person in news International News

Dinesh Gunawardena was sworn in as the 15th prime minister of Sri Lanka by President Ranil Wickremesinghe on 22 July along with 17 other cabinet ministers.

Important facts

  • Gunawardena is parliamentarian of the Sri Lanka Podujana Peramuna (SLPP) party.

  • Gunawardene was appointed Home Minister by the President Gotabaya Rajapaksa in April.

  • Gunawardena, 73, earlier served as the foreign minister and education minister for the nation.

  • The Sri Lankan economic and political crisis, resulted in economic mismanagement and conflict in Ukraine, sparked months of mass protests and eventually forced then-president Gotabaya Rajapaksa to flee the country.

  • Wickremesinghe was elected as the new president of Srilanka on 20 July and was sworn in as Sri Lankan president on 21 July.

  • Wickremesinghe declared a state of emergency, demanding a bailout from the International Monetary Fund.

About Sri Lanka

  • The Democratic Socialist Republic of Sri Lanka is a tropical island nation off the southeast coast of the Indian subcontinent. It is separated from the Indian subcontinent by the Gulf of Munnar and the Palk Strait.

  • Capitals: Colombo (Executive and Judicial) and Sri Jayawardenepura (Legislative).

  • Official Languages: Sinhala and Tamil

  • Currency: Sri Lankan Rupee

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -