England beats Germany 2-1 in UEFA Women Euro 2022 final

Tags: Sports News

The England women's football team made history late on 31 July and became the UEFA Women's European Champion.

Important facts

  • In the final of this competition, popularly known as Euro 2022, England defeated 8-time champions Germany 2-1 in extra time and became the fourth team to win the title as hosts.

  • Earlier, Norway (1987), Germany (1989, 2001) and Netherlands (2017) have won the Euro title as hosts.

  • This final match was played at the famous Wembley Stadium in London.

  • In the match, both the teams gave equal competition to each other from the beginning and kept the defence strong.

  • Neither team could score in the first half. In the second half, Alla Toon scored in the 62nd minute to give England a 1-0 lead.

  • Lena Magul scored for Germany in the 79th minute to level the match.

  • The hero of England's victory was Chloe Kelly, who scored a goal in extra time to give England a decisive 2-1 lead.

  • England's team last reached the final in 2009 and then Germany won the title by defeating them.

UEFA Women’s EURO 2022

  • The Women's Euro or UEFA European Women's Championship, established in 1984, is the top competition for women's football featuring teams from the UEFA Confederation.

  • The tournament was started in 1984 with four teams: Sweden, Italy, Germany and Norway.

  • From 1997, the Women's Euro expanded to an eight-team tournament and later in 2009 to a twelve-team competition.

  • Four more teams were added from 2017 onwards.

  • The initial winner of the tournament was Sweden, and in 1987 the second edition was won by Norway.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -