ITBP DG Sanjay Arora appointed as Delhi Police Commissioner

Tags: Person in news

The central government on 31 July appointed Sanjay Arora, a 1988-batch Tamil Nadu cadre Indian Police Service (IPS) officer, as the new Commissioner of the Delhi Police. 

Important facts

  • Director General of Sashastra Seema Bal SL Thosen took over the additional charge of Indo-Tibetan Border Police from his batchmate Sanjay Arora on 1 August.

  • Sanjay Arora will replace Rakesh Asthana as the Delhi Police Commissioner. Rakesh Asthana, a 1984 batch IPS officer, was appointed in July 2021.

  • Sanjay Arora was the Superintendent of Police (SP) of the Special Task Force, where he achieved significant success against the Veerappan gang, for which he was awarded the Chief Minister's Gallantry Medal for this gallant action.

  • After being trained by the NSG in 1991, Arora was instrumental in forming a special security group to provide security to the Chief Ministers of Tamil Nadu during the days of LTTE activity.

  • Arora, who holds a bachelor's degree in Electrical and Electronics Engineering from Malaviya National Institute of Technology in Jaipur, served ITBP on deputation as Commandant from 1997 to 2002.

  • He commanded a battalion of ITBP in Matli, Uttarakhand from 1997 to 2000.

  • He has been awarded the Police Medal for Meritorious Service in 2004, President's Police Medal for Distinguished Service in 2014, Police Special Duty Medal, Antrik Suraksha Padak and UN Peacekeeping Medal.

  • The Delhi Police works under the Ministry of Home Affairs (MHA).

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -