Five new countries elected as non-permanent members of the UN Security Council

Tags: International News

 United Nations Security Council (UNSC)

Algeria, Guyana, the Republic of Korea, Sierra Leone and Slovenia were elected non-permanent members of the UN Security Council on 6 June for a two-year term.

An overview of the news

  • The newly elected members will take up their new responsibilities on January 1, 2024 and serve till December 31, 2025.

  • Slovenia defeated Belarus by a vote of 153 to 38, while Algeria, Guyana, Sierra Leone and the Republic of Korea were elected unopposed.

  • These new members will replace Albania, Brazil, Gabon, Ghana and the United Arab Emirates at present when their two-year term ends on 31 December 2023.

Election of non-permanent members

  • Voting is done by secret ballot and candidates have to get a two-thirds majority, or 128 votes.

  • In all, 192 countries voted to fill five seats on the council allocated to the Africa and Asia-Pacific groups, and one each to Eastern Europe and Latin America and the Caribbean.

About United Nations Security Council (UNSC)

  • It was established in 1945 by the United Nations Charter.

  • It is one of the six major organs of the United Nations.

  • The other 5 organs of the United Nations are - the United Nations General Assembly (UNGA), the Trusteeship Council, the Economic and Social Council, the International Court of Justice and the Secretariat.

  • It has five permanent members - China, France, Russia, the United Kingdom, and the United States, collectively known as the P5

  • Any one of them can veto a resolution.

  • Headquarters - New York

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -