Latvia and Estonia withdraw from cooperation group between China and Central and Eastern European countries

Tags: International News

Latvia and Estonia have withdrawn from a cooperation group between China and more than a dozen Central and Eastern European countries.

Important facts

  • The move comes amid Western criticism of China over increasing military pressure on Taiwan.

  • Relations between Lithuania and China deteriorated after Taiwan was allowed to open a de facto embassy late last year.

  • Latvia and Estonia said they would continue to work towards a constructive and pragmatic relationship with China while respecting a rules-based international order and human rights.

China and Central & Eastern European (CEE) 17+1 cooperation group

  • It is a China-led format founded in 2012 in Budapest. 

  • It aims to expand cooperation between Beijing and Central and Eastern European (CEE) member states with investment and trade for the development of the CEE region.

  • It also aims at the development of infrastructure projects such as modernization of bridges, motorways, railway lines and ports in the member states.

  • It includes twelve EU member states and five Balkan states.

  • Name of the countries in 17+1 - Albania, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Bulgaria, Croatia, Czech Republic, Estonia, Greece, Hungary, Latvia, Lithuania, Macedonia, Montenegro, Poland, Romania, Serbia, Slovakia and Slovenia. 

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -