Leo Varadkar re-elected as the Prime Minister of Ireland

Tags: Person in news International News

Leo Varadkar re-elected as the Prime Minister of Ireland

Indian origin Leo Varadkar was elected as the prime minister of the Republic of Ireland for the second time on 17 December 2022. He took over from Michael Martin under an arrangement struck between their two parties under a 2020 coalition pact. Michael Martin has become the deputy Prime minister and Foreign minister.

Earlier in a special session in the lower house of the Irish parliament, Dail voted to approve Leo Varadkar’s nomination as the prime minister. It was later also confirmed by the Irish President Michael D. Higgins.

After the 2020 general election Martin’s Fianna Fail party and Varadkar's Fine Gael party entered into a coalition deal under which powers were to be shared between the two parties. 

Leo Varadkar was earlier Prime Minister of Ireland from 2017 to 2020. 

Republic Of Ireland 

The Republic of Ireland is a western European country which shares a boundary with Great Britain.

The Parliament of Ireland is called the Oireachtas. The lower house of the parliament is called Dail and the upper house is called Seanad Éireann (Senate).

The term of Dail is five years.

President of Ireland: Michael D. Higgins

Currency: Euro

Capital: Dublin

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -

Date Wise Search