'Moidams' nominated for UNESCO World Heritage Site

Tags: National News

Prime Minister Narendra Modi has selected the 'Pyramids of Assam' as the country's sole nomination for the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) World Heritage Site out of 52 heritage sites.

An overview of the news

  • The Ahom-era 'Moidams' (cemetery of the royal family) in Assam's Charaideo district will be India's only nomination for recognition as a UNESCO World Heritage Site.

  • The 'Moidams' of the Ahom dynasty at Charaideo were first included in the tentative list of UNESCO World Heritage Site in April 2014.

  • 'Moidems' will be nominated in the category of cultural sites.

  • India currently has 40 World Heritage Sites – 32 of them cultural sites, seven natural sites and one mixed site.

  • Currently, Kaziranga National Park and Manas National Park in Assam in the Northeast are among the seven natural sites while there is no World Heritage Site in the cultural heritage category.


  • The United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO) is a specialised agency of the United Nations (UN).

  • It is also a member of the United Nations Sustainable Development Group (UN SDG), a coalition of United Nations agencies and organisations that aims to meet the Sustainable Development Goals (SDGs).

  • Headquarters:- Paris, France

  • Director General: -Audrey Azoulay

  • Founded:- 16 November 1945 in London, United Kingdom

  • The organisation has -193 members and 11 associate members.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -