PM Modi named 21 islands of Andaman and Nicobar after Paramveer Chakra awardees

Tags: National News

Modi named 21 islands of the Andaman and Nicobar Islands after 21 Param Vir Chakra awardees on the auspicious occasion of Parakram Divas organised to mark the 126th birth anniversary of Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose on 23 January.

An overview of the news

  • The Prime Minister also unveiled the model of the National Memorial dedicated to Netaji to be built on Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Island.

  • PM and Home Minister Amit Shah participated in the program organised in Andaman-Nicobar through video conference.

  • In 2019, the museum related to Netaji was inaugurated at the Red Fort in Delhi.

  • The eldest Anam Island was named after the first Paramveer Chakra Award winner, the second largest Anam Island was named after the second Paramveer Chakra Award winner.

  • This step will be an everlasting tribute to our heroes, many of whom made the ultimate sacrifice protecting the sovereignty and integrity of the nation.

  • The Ross Islands were renamed Netaji Subhash Chandra Bose Islands in 2018 to honor Netaji's sacrifices.

Islands to be named after the following Param Vir Chakra winners

  • Major Somnath Sharma, Subedar and Honorary Captain (then Lance Naik) Karam Singh, MM 2nd Lt. Rama Raghoba Rane, Naik Jadunath Singh, Havildar Major Piru Singh Capt GS Salaria, Lt. Col. (then Major) Dhan Singh Thapa, Subedar Joginder Singh, Maj. Shaitan Singh, Abdul Hameed, Lieutenant Colonel Ardeshir Burjorji Tarapore, Lance Naik Albert Ekka, Major Hoshiar Singh, Second Lieutenant Arun Khetrapal, Flying Officer Nirmaljit Singh Sekhon, Major Ramaswamy Parameswaran, Naib Subedar Bana Singh, Captain Vikram Batra, Lieutenant Manoj Kumar Pandey, Subedar Major (then Rifleman) Sanjay Kumar and Subedar Major Retd Grenadier Yogendra Singh Yadav

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -