NITI Aayog's Energy Climate Index

Tags: National

NITI Aayog has released the State Energy and Climate Index - Cycle 1 (SECI) in which Gujarat has topped the list of large states while Goa has topped the list of smaller states.

  • The index compares states and union territories based on several indicators and will encourage them to transition to energy.

  • This index by NITI Aayog aims to rank the states and union territories on the basis of performance on six parameters, which include the performance of power distribution companies, energy efficiency and access to energy.

  • According to the commission report, Gujarat is followed by Kerala and Punjab respectively. In this list, states like Chhattisgarh, Madhya Pradesh and Jharkhand have been placed at the last position.

  • Goa tops the index among smaller states. It is followed by Tripura and Manipur respectively.

  • The objective of SECI Round-I is to rank the states and union territories on six parameters. These six parameters can be seen in the following points:

  • Performance of Electricity Distribution Companies (Discoms),

  • access, affordability and reliability of energy,

  • clean energy initiative

  • energy efficiency,

  • sustainable environment and

  • New initiatives are included.

  • A total of 27 indicators are included in these standards.

  • States and Union Territories will be able to compare their benchmarks using the index and will be able to develop better policy regimes.

  • Chandigarh tops the Union Territories (UTs). This is followed by Delhi and Daman and Diu/Dadra and Nagar Haveli respectively.

  • Punjab has been ranked first among large states as per DISCOM performance, while Kerala topped in energy access, affordability and reliability categories.

  • Similarly, Haryana in the Clean Energy Initiative category and Tamil Nadu in the Energy Efficiency category has been the best among large states. This index is based on the figures of 2019-20.

Administrative Structure of NITI Aayog

Chairman: Prime Minister

Vice President: Rajiv Kumar at present appointed by the Prime Minister

Governing Council: Chief Ministers of all States and Lieutenant Governors of Union Territories.

Regional Council: The Prime Minister or a person nominated by him presides over the meeting of Chief Ministers and Lieutenant Governors to address specific regional issues.

Ad-hoc Membership: 2 ex-officio members on rotation from leading research institutes.

Ex-officio Membership: A maximum of four members of the Union Council of Ministers nominated by the Prime Minister.

Chief Executive Officer (CEO): Secretary to the Government of India who is appointed by the Prime Minister for a fixed term.

Special Invitees: Experts from various fields nominated by the Prime Minister.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -