Shehbaz Sharif elected as the new Prime Minister of Pakistan

Tags: Popular International News

The Pakistan Parliament has elected the 70 year old Shehbaz Sharif as the 23rd Prime Minister of Pakistan on 11 April 2022. He secured 174 votes in a 342 lower house called the National Assembly. He is the leader of Pakistan Muslim League (N).

  • He was elected unopposed as the other candidate, former Foreign Minister Shah Mehmmod Qureshi boycotted the poll after his party, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) party, boycotted the voting and staged a walkout.

  • Sharif was administered the oath of office by the Senate chairman Sadiq Sanjarani after the Imran Khan supported President Arif Alvi went on a sick leave.

  • Sehbaz Sharif is the younger brother of former Prime Minister of Pakistan Nawaz Sharif. He has been three times the Chief Minister of the Pakistani province of Punjab.

  • The 100  members of Imran Khan’s PTI party later announced their resignation  from the National Assembly in protest against the removal of the PTI leader Imran Khan Government. Imran Khan has called for nationwide protests and called for early elections in the country.

  •  The Imran Khan Government  had to resign after a vote of no confidence was passed against the government in Pakistan's National Assembly on 10 April 2022. 

  • Imran Khan alleged that America wanted to remove him from the office due to his policy of  supporting China and Russia and  not acceding to the American demand for military bases for operations against Taliban in Afghanistan. America has denied such accusations.

  • The Imran Khan government was becoming increasingly unpopular in Pakistan due to the serious economic crisis in the country and rising prices of daily essential commodities.

  • No Prime Minister in Pakistan has completed its five year terms. Imran khan is the only Prime Minister who has to resign after the passage of a no confidence motion against his government.

Important for Exam 

Pakistan Parliament Name : It is called as Majlis e-Shoora

It consists of two Houses. The Upper House is called the Senate and the Lower House is called the National Assembly. 

President of Pakistan : Arif Alvi 

Capital : Islamabad

Currency : Pakistani Rupee 

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -