Nobel Prize 2021

Tags: Awards

Nobel prize 2021 winners were conferred with the prize on 10 December The award is announced in the month of October  but it is given to the winner on 10 december ,the birth anniversary of  Alfred Nobel. All the Nobel prizes are given in Stockholm except the Peace prize,which is given in Oslo, Norway. Norway and Sweden were united by a monarch until 1905 when Norway became an Independent Kingdom .

Nobel Prize Winner 2021.


Syukuro Manabe of Japan  and Klaus Hasselmann of Germany and Girogio Parisi of Italy 

 “for the physical modelling of Earth’s climate, quantifying variability and reliably predicting global warming”

Giorgio Parisi of Italy 

 “for the discovery of the interplay of disorder and fluctuations in physical systems from atomic to planetary scales”


Benjamin List  of Germany and David W.C. MacMillan of Scotland 

- “for the development of asymmetric organocatalysis”


David Julius of U.S and Ardem Patapoutian of   U.S 

- “for their discoveries of receptors for temperature and touch”


Maria Ressa  of Philippines and Dmitry Andreyevich Muratov of Russia 

Maria Ressa in 2012,  co-founded Rappler, a digital media company for investigative journalism.

 Dmitry Andreyevich Muratov was the co-founder of the independent newspaper Novaya Gazeta.Novaya Gazeta is the most independent newspaper in Russia today. 


Abdulrazak Gurnah of Britain . He was born in Tanzania, Africa.

 His famous works are Paradise, By the Sea,Desertion

The Sveriges Riksbank Prize in Economic Sciences 

David Card of Canada, Joshua D. Angrist  of the U.S and Guido W. Imbens of Holland   David Card  got this award - “for his empirical contributions to labour economics”

Joshua D. Angrist  of the U.S and Guido W. Imbens of Holland  for 

 - “ their methodological contributions to the analysis of causal relationships”


  • The Nobel Prize are five separate prizes awarded annually, that, according to Alfred Nobel's will of 1895, are awarded to "those who, during the preceding year, have conferred the greatest benefit to Mankind.”
  • Nobel Prizes are awarded in the fields of Physics, Chemistry, Physiology or Medicine, Literature, and Peace 
  • In 1968, Sveriges Riksbank (Sweden's central bank) funded the establishment of the Prize in Economic Sciences in Memory of Alfred Nobel, to also be administered by the Nobel Foundation
  • Nobel Prizes are not awarded posthumously, but if a person is awarded a prize and dies before receiving it, the prize is presented.
  • The prize money is given in Swedish Krona , SEK.

The Nobel Prizes, begun in 1901, and the Nobel Memorial Prize in Economic Sciences, begun in 1969. 


  • The youngest Nobel laureate is Ms Malala Yousafzai who was awarded the Peace Prize 2014 when she was 17 years old. 
  • The oldest Nobel laureate is John B. Goodenough who was awarded the Prize in Chemistry in 2019 when he was 97 years old.
  • Laureates who have received Multiple Nobel Prizes: 
  • Marie Curie received the prize twice. Nobel Prize in Physics (1903) and Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1911).
  • The International Committee of the Red Cross received the prize three times. Nobel Peace Prize (1917, 1944, 1963).
  • Linus Pauling received the prize twice. Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1954) and Nobel Peace Prize (1962).
  • John Bardeen received the prize twice. Nobel Prize in Physics (1956, 1972).
  • Frederick Sanger received the prize twice. Nobel Prize in Chemistry (1958, 1980).
  • United Nations High Commissioner for Refugees; received the prize twice. Nobel Peace Prize (1954, 1981).

List of Nobel Prize winners from India -

  • Rabindranath Tagore (1913) - Literature
  • CV Raman (1930) - Physics
  • Har Gobind Khurana (1968) - Medicine
  • Mother Teresa (1979) - Peace
  • Subhramanyan Chandrashekhar (1983) - Physics
  • Amartya Sen (1998) - Economics
  • Venkatraman Ramakrishnan (2009) - Chemistry.
  • Kailash Satyarthi (2014) - Peace
  • Abhijit Banerjee (2019) - Economics

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -