President Draupadi Murmu confers NSS Awards 2020-21 at Rashtrapati Bhawan

Tags: Awards National News

President Droupadi Murmu conferred the National Service Scheme (NSS) Awards for the year 2020-21 on September 24 at Rashtrapati Bhavan.


  • A total of forty-two Awards were given. Two Universities, ten NSS Units, their Programme Officers, and 30 NSS Volunteers received the awards.
  • Union Youth Affairs and Sports Minister Anurag Singh Thakur, Union Minister of State for Youth Affairs and Sports Nishith Pramanik and Youth Affairs Secretary Sanjay Kumar were present on the occasion.

About National Service Scheme (NSS) Award :

  • The Department of Youth Affairs, Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports, awards the National Service Scheme every year.

  • These Awards were instituted by the Ministry of Youth Affairs and Sports in 1993-94 on the occasion of the Silver Jubilee Year of National Service Scheme.

  • The awards are given to recognize and reward the outstanding contribution for voluntary community service made by Universities and Colleges, 2 Councils, Senior Secondary, NSS Units and Program Officers and NSS Volunteers for promotion of NSS in the country.

About National Service Scheme (NSS) :

  • It is a Centrally Sector Scheme that was launched in 1969.

  • Its primary objective is to develop the personality and character of the student youth through voluntary community service.

  • The ideological orientation of the NSS is inspired by the ideals of Mahatma Gandhi.

  • The motto of NSS is “NOT ME, BUT YOU ‘स्वयं से पहले आप’.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -

Date Wise Search

Test Your Learning


Go To Quiz