Union Environment Ministry to launch Swachh Vayu Sarvekshan

Tags: Science and Technology

The Union Environment, Forest and Climate Change is going to launch Swachh Vayu Sarvekshan  that will  rank 131 cities in the country for implementing City Action Plans prepared as part of National Clean Air Programme (NCAP) for reducing air pollution upto 40% by 2025-26.

This was announced during the two day National Conference of Ministers of Environment, Forest and Climate Change held in Ekta Nagar, Gujarat on 23-24th September, 2022

Classification of cities for Swachh Vayu Sarvekshan 

According to the Ministry, 131 cities will be categorized into three groups based on population. 

  •  47 cities are in the first group having a population more than 10 lakh. 
  • 44 cities are in the second group having a population between 3 to 10 lakh. 
  • Third group consists of 40 cities having a population less than 3 lakh.

How the cities will be assessed 

Cities are required to do the self-assessment as per the framework provided on PRANA online portal. This assessment is carried out annually. Cities have to report implementation of activities and measures taken in respect of solid waste management, road dust management, management of construction and demolition waste, control of vehicular emissions and industrial pollution.

Aim of the Swachh Vayu Sarvekshan 

 The aim of the Swachh Vayu Sarvekshan is to promote constructive competition amongst the states in the spirit of competitive federalism and to take measures to improve air quality. 

This Sarvekshan provides a tool to cities to plan their actions in order to improve the air quality.

 3 best performing states in each group will be given cash awards by the Union ministry.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -

Date Wise Search

Test Your Learning


Go To Quiz