President Draupadi Murmu presents the National Film Awards in New Delhi

Tags: Awards

President Draupadi Murmu presented the 68th National Film Awards on 30 September 2022 in New Delhi.

Important facts

  • The Dadasaheb Phalke Award for the year 2020 was presented to the famous actress Asha Parekh.

  • The best Feature Film award was given to Tamil film 'Soorarai Pottru'. 

All the notable awards are as follows-

  • Best Feature Film - 'Soorarai Pottru'

  • Best Actor (shared) - Suriya for 'Soorarai Pottru' Ajay Devgn for 'Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior'

  • Best Actress - Aparna Balamurali for 'Soorarai Pottru'

  • Best Popular Film - Providing Wholesome Entertainment 'Tanhaji: The Unsung Warrior'

  • Best Director (posthumous award) - KR Sachidanandan, better known as Sachy, for 'Ayyappanum Koshiyum'

  • Best Supporting Actor Award - Biju Menon for 'Ayyappanum Koshiyum'

  • Best Supporting Actress - Lakshmi Priyaa Chandramouli for 'Sivaranjiniyum Innum Sila Pengalum' (Tamil)

  • Best Screenplay - Shalini Usha Nair and Sudha Kongara for 'Soorarai Pottru'

  • Best Music Direction (Background Score) - GV Prakash Kumar for 'Soorarai Pottru'

  • Best Action Direction (Stunt Choreography) - 'Ayyappanum Koshiyum'

  • Best Playback Female Singer - Nanchamma for 'Ayyappanum Koshiyum'

  • Best Playback Singer Male - Rahul Deshpande for 'Mi Vasantrao' (Marathi)

  • Best Editing - Sreekar Prasad for 'Sivaranjaniyum Innum Sila Pengallum'

  • Best Hindi Film - 'Toolsidas Junior'

  • Best Music Direction (Songs) - Thaman S for 'Ala Vaikunthapurramuloo' (Telugu)

  • Best Lyrics - Manoj Muntashir for 'Saina' (Hindi)

  • Best Make-up Artist - TV Rambabu for 'Natyam' (Telugu)

  • Best Choreography - Sandhya Raju for 'Natyam'

  • Indira Gandhi Award - Best Debut Film of a Director Madonne Ashwin for 'Mandela' (Tamil)

  • Best Dialogue Writer - Madonne Ashwin for 'Mandela'

  • Best Cinematography - Supratim Bhol for 'Avijatrik' (Bengali)

  • Most Film-Friendly State - Madhya Pradesh, Uttarakhand and Uttar Pradesh 

  • Best Book on Cinema - Kishwar Desai for 'The Longest Kiss'

About National Film Awards

  • It was established in 1954.

  • This Awards is one of the most prestigious and much looked-forward-to events in the country.

  • Awards are given in three categories - Feature, Non-Features and Best Writing on Cinema.

  • The winners of the awards are decided by a jury consisting of eminent persons in the fields of cinema, other allied arts and humanities.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -

Date Wise Search

Test Your Learning


Go To Quiz