Russia wins Davis Cup

Tags: Sports News

The Russian Tennis Federation defeated Croatia in the final  held at Madrid, Spain.

Davis Cup is a men’s team championship .18 teams were competing in the tournament which was held from 25 november to 5 December 2021 at Innsbruck, Austria, Madrid, Spain and Turin, Italy. 

Davis Cup 

  • Davis cup is the prestigious men tennis championship organised by International Tennis Federation 
  • It started in 1900 as a competition between Great Britain and United States and now 135 countries participate in the cup.
  • The most successful team is U.S which has won it 32 times 
  • The second most successful team is Australia which has won it 28 times
  • Current Champion Russia has won it 3 times .

Note :  In accordance with the ban by the World Anti-Doping Agency (WADA) and a December 2020 decision by the Court of Arbitration for Sport (CAS), the team from Russia was not permitted to use the Russian name, flag, or anthem; it participated in the 2021 Davis Cup Finals as the team of the Russian Tennis Federation (RTF), and used the flag of the RTF.

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -