Six African countries to get mRNA vaccine technology in WHO project


The World Health Organisation(WHO) has selected  six African countries  Egypt, Kenya, Nigeria, Senegal, South Africa and Tunisia  to receive the technology needed to produce mRNA vaccines against covid-19.

  • The technology transfer project was launched by the WHO in Cape Town, South Africa to help low- and middle-income countries manufacture mRNA vaccines at scale and according to international standards.

  • This was done by WHO after wealthy countries and companies sold vaccines to countries that could pay the highest price.

  • The low and middle income countries were unable to afford the vaccine. 

  • The vaccine will be initially  manufactured by the South African vaccine manufacturer Biovac.

World Health Organisation (WHO)

  • The World Health Organisation is a specialised agency of the United Nations which was founded on 7 April , 1948.

  • Every year 7 April is celebrated as “World Health Day”.

  •  It was set up to further international cooperation  for improved public health conditions.   WHO defines health as “a state of complete physical, mental, and social well-being and not merely the absence of  disease .”

  • Headquarters of WHO : Geneva ,Switzerland 

  • Director General of WHO :  Tedros Adhanom Ghebreyesus  of Ethiopia .

  • He was elected as WHO director General  in 2017 and later re-elected in 2022 for a period of 5 years .

 Full Form for Exam 

WHO: World Health Organisation 

mRNA :  messenger ribonucleic acid  (RNA)

World Health Day : 7 April 

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -