Tamil Nadu government makes Aadhaar mandatory for all its schemes

Tags: State News

Tamil Nadu government makes Aadhaar mandatory

The Tamil Nadu government has announced that all those who are eligible for benefits (other than minor children) under various government schemes will have to submit proof of having an Aadhaar number or get an Aadhaar identification.

Important facts

  • As per the order, Aadhaar is mandatory for government employees, government pensioners and beneficiaries of various schemes implemented by the state government through various departments through their implementing agencies.

  • Any person who is willing to avail the benefits but does not have an Aadhaar number or has not yet enrolled for Aadhaar, will need to apply for Aadhaar enrollment before registering for the schemes.

  • The Treasury and Accounts Department through its implementing agency will provide Aadhaar enrollment facilities for those beneficiaries who are not yet enrolled.

  • In case there is no Aadhaar Enrollment Centre, the Department will provide enrollment facilities at convenient locations through its implementing agency in coordination with the existing Registrar of UIDAI or by becoming the Registrar of UIDAI itself.

  • The government has also announced a remedial mechanism in case Aadhaar authentication fails due to bad biometrics or any other reason.

  • This will be done through Aadhaar One Time Password (OTP) or time-based OTP with limited time validity.

About Tamilnadu

  • The state was formed on 26 January 1950 but its boundaries were redrawn on 14 January 1969.

  • Tamil Nadu is located at the mouth of the Arabian Sea, the Bay of Bengal and the Indian Ocean.

  • Bharatanatyam is a very popular and famous dance form of Tamil Nadu.

  • Tamil Nadu is the largest producer of bananas and flowers, the second largest producer of mango, rubber, groundnut, coconut and the third largest producer of coffee.

  • Governor- Ravindra Narayan Ravi

  • Chief Minister- M.K.Stalin

  • Assembly seats 235 seats

  • Rajya Sabha Seats - 18

  • Lok Sabha seats- 39

Please Rate this article, so that we can improve the quality for you -